Heads from long ago – by Boatdog

9 Responses to “Heads from long ago – by Boatdog”

  1. corndoggie Says:

    More enigmatic than the Strange Ones. Who are these guys? What are they thinking behind those stoic Aku-Aku expressions?

  2. Set the wayback machine for 1967, Westhampton Jr. High School. My first or second ever linoleum block print. At the time, I remember thinking that the smaller head emerging from the medulla of the larger head was analogous to the continual re-invention of self that must occur to adapt to changing environmental conditions, particularly well represented by the transformation of adolescence. The stoic expressions are there hiding the utter angst, in a subtle mocking way.

  3. unclebanjo Says:

    ” all I can say is – they just made it all up.”

    You going to be sky watching this morning?
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/imthere/

  4. You nailed it Uncle. Everything I wrote above is 100% true, up until the word “remember,” and I made all the rest up, just like the Cubists.

  5. unclebanjo Says:

    The older I get the more I enjoy cubism. Do you suppose it’s a eye site thing, I can’t remember Picasso ever with glasses on even when he got ancient?

  6. corndoggie Says:

    Eyeball.

  7. unclebanjo Says:

    I really am starting to like this print, I did one of these linoleum prints but it doesn’t compare to this. I guess Boatdog would be considered a modernist?

  8. Actually, since I was just a lad of 13 or 14 when I made this, I suppose I would’ve been a Pubist.

  9. Nyuk, nyuk, good one, BD.

Leave a Reply

