Decades Back

21 Responses to “Decades Back”

  1. unclebanjo Says:

    Or should be intitled “Dangle of the Angle” for those that harp on my foolish mistakes of my youth. I’d like to apologize for any tasteless art projects of the past that I find embarrassing now. I am overly sensitive but I’m still here.

  2. As the man said, “rise above.” Is that the Mayflower in the background of this picture? The Godspeed? The Susan Constant?

  3. unclebanjo Says:

    Wonder if that abandoned barge on chickahominy river is still there after two decades? That’s Rickys inlaws place on the river that sits on a bluff that has a huge stairway down to the pier on the north side of the river.

    You get alot of John Otway if you Google Otway, crazy guitar, he’s even got a beer named after him.

  4. p.s. There weren’t any fish there, but if you dip a line with a meaty chicken bone you would pull up some crabs. Oh, there were catfish if you consider that fishing?

  5. Just talked to Richard and he says they are old freight barges run aground (when, who knows). He had been up on it and said they were snakey. He also said there was quite a few of them on the river. That is a new pier to the right of where I was fishing and he had a chance to buy that land.

  6. There are a bunch of sunken barges around Dutch Gap, mostly of more recent steel construction. Right good Largemouth Bass fishing to be had around there, also pretty decent scavenging for your basic nautical accouterments… snatch blocks, cleats, heavy polyproylene line. I have a nice piece of 4″ diameter line I scavenged from there that I’ve kept around.

  7. corndoggie Says:

    Heh, heh… he said “snatch block”.

  8. unclebanjo Says:

    dangle of the angle……..

    I have a photo of Rodney with a big cat caught at Dutch Gap that I’ll try to dig up.

  9. I think I’m on the road to recovery using my “do nothing and wait” therapy. Yesterday, I was able to go the full length of the al-qaedea bars at Bryan Park with no pain.

  10. Wonder how far we can go with this before we get a chicken?

  11. unclebanjo Says:

  12. unclebanjo Says:

    Looks like a BigK app? Spore???

    Al gave me hell today for my general conversation not following a thread.

    Hey, I gotta be me!

  13. corndoggie Says:

Leave a Reply

