For Art Lovers #3

I thought I’d share my Nature Conservancy entry here, in case you missed it on Flickr:

41 Responses to “For Art Lovers #3”

  1. unclebanjo Says:

    I Like:

    The watermark as art (very DADA), I’ll give it a try soon…….

  2. Yes! I had the same idea when I posted this picture and that idea is therefore COPYRIGHTED by ME!

    Look for my “ALL RIGHTS RESERVED SERIES” (¬©Boatdog) coming to a social network and maybe an actual art gallery in the near future. I link the concept more to Japer John’s American Flag paintings, and will now see what connections may exist between DADA and Japser John’s work.

    LOOK AT ME! AREN’T I GREAT? (rhetorical question… no need to answer)

  3. …anybody got any encaustic I could borrow?

    “Just don’t ask Jasper Johns what any of it means:”

    http://www.buzzle.com/editorials/7-26-2004-57112.asp

  4. unclebanjo Says:

    “Its purpose was to ridicule what its participants considered to be the meaninglessness of the modern world.”

  5. I like it when the Muse (¬© http://www.flickr.com/photos/23475878@N07/2314870811/ ) makes me learn about new art. I think it fits under the “rank nonsense” area. Today’s lesson is “Everyone I have ever slept with”:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Everyone_I_Have_Ever_Slept_With_1963%E2%80%931995

  6. unclebanjo Says:

    I’m seeing the link to JJ as Neo-Dada.

    will leave this for BigK………..

  7. Leader. Please correlate and discuss DADA, Jasper Johns and Pop Art for us. Thanking you in advance.

  8. unclebanjo Says:

    I couldn’t afford it but I search out a well made microfiber insulated vest today. I found what I was looking for at Burlington Coat Factory but wrong size. I Googled for more local stores and found one on rt.1 to my dismay I found out it hasn’t been built yet, so much for the internet and waiting for an answer on the phone. One more chance at the location in the southside and bingo they had my size. All winter I can’t seem to stay warm with everybody conserving or having those crappy heatpumps. This is the ticket after the long underwear and double sweater’s not. The brand is a “WEATHERPROOF” made in Viet Nam and isn’t the price of a tank of oil like “North Face”. Now Like “The Tent” I’m going to write the names of everybody I ever slept with inside it, won’t my wife dig that.

    HOW DO YOU LIKE ME NOW! (often screamed by patrons at the bar at FRECKLES).

  9. PUP TENT!

  10. This is why I have to quit my day job. I’ve missed out on great opportunities to discuss modern art. Lecture to follow

  11. unclebanjo Says:

    I know…I’m channeling Roto it must be getting near his appearance.

  12. unclebanjo Says:

    Bosco is going to love this. It looks like the photographers are even better from Texas :

    West Texas Water

  13. Fluxus?

    Bofus?

  14. Another example of a show causing an art movement:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Young_British_Artists

    Let’s have a show.

  15. The DADA attribution is really pretty good. The correlation I make is with the Fluxus group, specifically those creators of Mail Art. These guys would make a piece and send it through the mail system, where it was stamped and marked and thereby enhanced.

    Dada’s proponents believed that nothing was better than anything else, which is really just a bunch of horse-shit from a bunch of smarty-pants sissy boys who were really just reacting in the gayest sort of way to real men who were the abstract expressionists (sorry I digress). By using popular imagery Johns attempted to walk the fine line where subject matter fell away and the work could stand on its own. His use of encaustic gave the work roots that went back to Ancient Egypt. Pop artists took this whole thing a step further and tried to elevate the mundane to the rarefied air of Art.

    I get it, but as time goes on I’m more drawn to craft.

  16. O3 – the photographers aren’t better, just the sky.

  17. WDL. I laughed out loud (not going to abbreviate it) when I read the part about the smarty pants sissy boys. The one thing they ALL have in common is that they ALL just made it ALL UP.

    I am in daily contact with “people” who believe that everything we experience is ALL made up in our minds, but I’ve yet to get a good answer from these “people” about why we all experience things in similar ways.

    Time to think this art discussion back to Descartes.

  18. unclebanjo Says:

    Frida Kahlo thought most of the artists she met in Paris were lazy, bonehead, blowhards but she was good friends with Duchamp who helped her complete a show that some of the crew had sandbagged her on.

    There is alot of great work during this movement I love but the discussion of it is tedious. I just like the graphic nature without thought, pure cartoon like. The writing and music from the period I know less about but especially the music I know I enjoy alot of it even though I’m not sure what the pieces are.

  19. unclebanjo Says:

    Jeez, Sarah Lucas is a piece of work? never heard of her………

  20. Hugo Ball was the quintessential Dada Composer.

  21. unclebanjo Says:

    I’ve heard Boatdogs brother sing some of this type modern stuff on public radio years ago.

  22. unclebanjo Says:

    Couldn’t find the pieces I was thinking of but this is wonderful and they are playing orginal period instruments that are just beautiful!

  23. corndoggie Says:

    Wow! Love the specularity!

    Love the singing, too. Such feeling… I’ve never heard him do anything but opera. I’m hoping to find him in the heart-breaking St. Matthew’s Passion.

  24. Not Dada – German

  25. unclebanjo Says:

    That video sorta made my night. My dad really loved tenor’s and it has rubbed off on me through the years. Gourd boy was always miffed at the fact I love Peabo Bryson (why in the world am I listening to that claptrap). I’ve yet to hear a tenor like him.

  26. corndoggie Says:

    Here’s the only other non-operatic recording I can find. This piece by Schoenberg represents the pinnacle of hyper-Romanticism as it’s exploding it’s bounds and becoming German modernism. After this, the deluge.

  27. corndoggie Says:

    What happen to Nicest Nostrils #2, and what happen to Neptune?

  28. Post removed on request.

  29. corndoggie Says:

    Whoops.

  30. Yeah, I was kind of put off by the nostril gazing. It didn’t make me look my best like I do in this photo: http://thedailymuse.org/2009/07/12/eat-what-nee-head/

  31. Anonymous Says:

    This should have been entered :

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigkball/5111910209/

  32. Anonymous Says:

    WDL

    Your cell phone photo seems to beating out those here with cameras. I usually refrain from tags but may add one more?

  33. Anonymous Says:

    You know when you are an eccentric artist, when nobody invites you to Superbowl parties anymore.

  34. It also shows that you are an eccentric artist when you don’t know which teams are playing or the rules of the game.

  35. nice video – posted from craig county.

    f-d

    via w.d.h. internet connection – who would have thought!

  36. Canine in floating body Says:

    On Sunday, I was aware that there were several Super Bowl parties being held by friends. I had not been invited to any of them. I figured there were others going on that I had not heard about and was also not invited to. As I watched Facebook postings from friends with photos of the pot-luck dishes they were bringing to my other friends’ parties, I felt a brief surge of jealousy, mixed with feelings of inadequacy and isolation. But then I remembered that I don’t really have a great interest in football, in spite of all the time I spent in my youth trying to perfect my passing skills and doing something resembling “scrimmaging.”

    It occurred to me that maybe I was better off not having to attend the Super Bowl parties and feign interest in the game while playing Debbie Downer to cheerful rooms full of wonderful friends who happen to have a perfectly wonderful enthusiasm for the sport of football.

    Namaste.

    P.S. I think these may be the aforementioned rules???:

  37. corndoggie Says:

    I can see why that well-put tale might resonate…

Leave a Reply

