**** Catapult

Ok, it’s late and I’ve had too much fun tonight, but I think this is still going to sound pretty great in the morning.

20 Responses to “**** Catapult”

  1. Finns? It figures.

  2. unclebanjo Says:

    Mills Brothers meet Chick Corea and Al Di Meola….

    Pretty Cool!

  3. That catapulted my shit almost as much as the Bats!

  4. It was a risky 3AM drunk post, but it actually sounds even better this morning. And let’s not be to mellow harshing of the Finns, after all, they gave us the sauna.

  5. Sibelius, too.

  6. I wasn’t knocking Finns, but they do tend make great leaps artistically which may not make sense. Not unlike the Japanese.

    Beer commercial for Sapporo.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=K-Rs6YEZAt8

  7. unclebanjo Says:

  8. That ad makes perfect sense to me… time for a biru.

  9. jude3obscured Says:

    Japanese words:

    ham-buggAH

    hottu-doggu

    No lie.

  10. other Japanese words:

    beisu-boru (baseball)

    starai-ku (strike)

  11. I have a friend in Tokyo who grew up in the post WWII era listening to Hank Williams and other popular US country artists. He plays guitar and sings and one of his favorite songs is “Bibarry Hirbirrys,” or the Ballad of Jed Clampett, if you prefer. He gave me his lyric sheet the last time he was in “Birginnia.” His English to Japanese and back into English translation is *adorable.* I’ll have to dig around to find the whole shebang, but in one of the fragments that I recall, “Well the first thing you know old Jed’s a millionaire, Kin folks said Jed move away from there,” turned into “Well the first thing you know old Jed’s a millionaire, Kin folks said he was like a chandelier.”

  12. …and I hear that Er-vu-ris Pres-ury is alive and well on the streets of Tokyo.

  13. I wonder what it sounds like to them when we try to speak their language.

  14. Excellent comment, and I wondered the same thing when I was writing my comments. I wouldn’t make fun of my Japanese friend any more here than I would to his face. We had a good laugh together over the translation of the Ballad of Jed Clampett the last time I saw him.

    But it’s hard not to be interested in the way the English (enng-goo-reesh) words are transmogrified into Japanese.

  15. unclebanjo Says:

    We took a mutual drunk friend to eat at the MEKONG once, who proceeded to scream out Hop Sing and other gibberish. Jeez, these were our friends at this restaurant.

    My favorite asian slang is from DEADWOOD, You can imagine the cruelty of 19th century humor.

  16. corndoggie Says:

    Rerun: Submitted on 2009/08/13 at 4:46 PM
    http://thedailymuse.org/2009/08/10/albrightdorian-gray-redux

    I once edited the text of a Japanese CD-ROM celebrating a Japanese artist. Art-talk in Japlish! Quite a challenge to turn it into English.

    Proposed installation piece: with some visual component by boatdog, a computer program by corndoggie applies Cagean randomization to fragments of art-talk culled from Art Forum.

  17. “Enhancement: speech-recognition picks up on bits of visitor speech, finds a match in the art-talk, and triggers that segment.”

    Museum visitor says: “COCKSUCKER!”

    Cagean fragment generator replies: “Acconci masturbating beneath the sloped floor of the Sonnabend Gallery could be seen as performance punk”

    (ArtForum, October, 1981, pg. 35)*

    *The best I could do to randomly generate An ARTFORUM response related to UncleBanjo’s favorite slang from Deadwood in less than 3 minutes. I’m sure Corndoggie’s program would work better.

  18. unclebanjo Says:

    HBO’s DEADWOOD really showed how this country formed and pretty much how it still is no matter how much you sugar coat it.

  19. corndoggie Says:

    It would be hard to top that 1981 quote as a match. WDL.

Leave a Reply

