“Data visualization” sounds mindbendingly boring, but

this is actually pretty fun and interesting.  And I really hope this hasn’t already been posted on here and I didn’t notice, because that would be pretty embarrassing.

9 Responses to ““Data visualization” sounds mindbendingly boring, but”

  1. unclebanjo Says:

    Boatdog beat you on this but mom always liked you best. just saying.. (Joke)

    🙂

  2. Here’s the guru of data visualization. He hates Power Point. You should, too.

    Edward Tufte http://www.edwardtufte.com/tufte/

  3. unclebanjo Says:

    Ahhh! ….I’ve been waiting for some comic relief.

    I too hated computers while it was still in the DOS stage. Now since Windows I’m fully hooked. It’s always waiting for the right fit with the hardware and software. Wish we had been younger when the good stuff evolves.

    C’est la vie!

  4. I was an art student at VCU when I first discovered computers. Daryl C and also a fellow student showed me how they punched cards and made the computer do small tasks. I wanted no part of that. Later on, while working at the Science Museum I saw a physics guy working with what I now know was Windows 2.0. That was for me!. I almost immediately enrolled in classes at VCU. That was around 1987. I’m still trying to catch up.

  5. I made a sculpture in about 1975 of a letter “C,” followed by a colon, both cut into a steel plate. My invention of the C: prompt predates the disk operating system by 6 years. Bill Gates owes me some $.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    C,

  7. Yes. KB used to call the aforementioned sculpture the “message from the ethereal world,” which also has an interesting tie-in to things like “ether”-nets and stuff. C,

  8. C: (see colon)..

    Colonoscopy.

  9. jude3obscured Says:

    I always like it when we can get something gastrointestinal on the Muse.

Leave a Reply

