Blockade Runner

Off topic, again. …doing my bit for the sesquicentennial today, I came across this beauty of a photo, which it’s totally off the topic I was researching, other than also being related to the U.S. Civil War. So, I’m off-off topic, here, but I do like boats (and dogs). The caption for this image: [Norfolk, Va. Steamer U.S.S. Fort Donelson (former Confederate blockade runner Robert E. Lee)]

7 Responses to “Blockade Runner”

  1. I consider anything about Norfolk – On topic. In fact I spent my youth in these same waters.

  2. corndoggie Says:

    Don’t you mean “The War of Northern Agression”?

  3. corndoggie Says:

    (er… sorry, Jude — that’s Aggression)

  4. boatdog Says:

    When I used the correct term for the war, “The U. S. Civil War,” I thought I might piss somebody off, but I never thought it would be Corndoggie.

  5. jude3obscured Says:

    I like how the scratch on the picture crosses the line mooring the big ship.

  6. corndoggie Says:

    Just kidding, kiddo. I ain’t no unreconstructed Johnny Reb.

Leave a Reply

