A new type of re-enactment?

This is extremely silly.

9 Responses to “A new type of re-enactment?”

  1. boatdog Says:

    Reminds me of one of the scenes from this movie I was just watching:

  2. boatdog Says:

    Note: it was just the part about wearing boxes and or buckets on one’s head that reminded me of the movie.

  3. Looks like it’s cheaper than being a War of Northron Aggro re-enactor.

  4. jude3obscured Says:

    I’m always in favor of art made from cardboard boxes and duct tape.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Is that “Gwar”, Richmond’s most famous “Rock” band, (at least the only one that admitted to being from Richmond) being played in the background of this epic cardboard battle scene? Have any of you been to a “Gwar” concert and can you describe it? Is there any truth to the rumour that “Gwar” was going to start a “Gwar World” in a former “Giant Open Air Market” in Richmond? What happened?
    Enquiring minds want to know.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    More cardboard — with packing tape this time.
    Life on Mars, the 2008 Carnegie International: interior of Thomas Hirschhorn's "Cavemanman"

    Pic doesn’t do it justice, but it was pretty cool, and the best thing in the group show at the Walker. In my first (and last) review published in Art News, I described another installation in the show “the aftermath of a grenade tossed into Jo-Ann Fabrics” but they took it out.

    Judd fer da DEE-fense

  7. Life on Mars looks like the CNB bank vault :

    http://otway.wordpress.com/2011/04/09/tragic-art/

    Whats the link to reveiw????

  8. Well I did some digging and found the Oaxaca article, NICE! I’m going to have to keep an eye on you.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Hey, thanks! If you ever get a chance to go to Oaxaca, it’s a fabulous place. I didn’t even go into the amazingly great and cheap food, nice people (my “landlady” at Casa Gigi where I stayed, plus a hilarious cab ride I had back from one of the little craft villages, wedged between two chubby guys in the back seat). And just generally cool place to hang out.

    The Art News piece was way back in 06 or 07, I think. I think they didn’t like that I was not real positive toward the show, which was at Walker Art Center and is kind of a big deal, behind the really big deal museums like in LA, NYC, Chicago etc. (hence first AND last piece for the publication). Walker has some great shows, but this one was uneven, at best.

Leave a Reply

