monkey brains

18 Responses to “monkey brains”

  1. Dog in Boat Says:

    Nice enigmatic post. I needed some skateboard wheels for my Fox School project recently and looked up “Richmond skateboard shops” on Google. One of the top three listings was a place called “Monkey Brains.” I went to all three shops. One was long gone. The second had just been locked down by the landlord for non-payment of rent. “Monkey Brains” was nowhere to be found, either. I still need some skateboard wheels.

  2. Dog in Boat Says:

    Oh, I see you’ve added a picture of an Osage Orange, otherwise called a Boa D’arc. or some such thing in the great state of Texas. Your post has lost it’s enigmatic chrarm, but it’s a nice picture.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    This picture shows the fruit of the Bois D’ Arc tree (not Boa). The early French explorers of Texas noticed that the native Americans used the wood of this tree for making bows and arrows hence the name. Roughly translated from French it means “tree of the bow”. Bois for bough, arc for bow. I own a plains indian longbow made of it. This tree is considered by most folks now as a “trash tree’ because the large green fruit causes a real mess and much “stoop labor” picking them up. The weird green “monkey brains” were known as “Horse Apples”, ” Osage Oranges” or “Hedge Apples” Also being almost impervious to rot and insect damage, the tree will die eventually when it’s quite large but refuses to fall down creating a spooky appearance. However this tree played many important roles in Texas history. The first paved streets in Dallas were paved with blocks of Bois D’Arc wood. Bank loans to build a house were only issued if you built the house on piers of Bois D’Arc stumps otherwise your house would be eaten by termites. The fruit is not edible for humans and despite one name horses don’t like it either. They were called hedge apples because when the seeds are planted in a row they form a thorny hedge that were used to contain livestock. These seeds were sold to farmers all over the country for this purpose thus spreding the tree far beyond it’s normal range until the advent of barbed wire replaced it’s use.
    I have many of these trees on my place. Some bear fruit and others do not leading me to think that there are males and females. I have to cut it sometimes and it tends to dull a chainsaw quickly. The newly exposed cut wood reveals a strange reddish orange interior. The strong curved boughs are perfect for hanging swings and hammocks. I may attempt to carve this wood at some point.
    I like my weird Bois D’Arc trees.

  4. Dog in Boat Says:

    Bois!” …of course! …should have been able to figure that out.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    That’s OK, in the vernacular of the native Texans it’s called and spelled “Bo Dark” as in, “Well, Shit Boy Howdy! I reckon it’s high time I best be fixing to tump over them damn Bo Dark trees.”

  6. Anonymous Says:

    I forgot to mention that the early farmers who used the shrubs of this tree as an enclosure called it ” horse high, bull strong and hog tight”. Also the “horse apples” can grow quite large weighing upwards of two pounds and they fall to the ground from considerable heights unexpectedly with a loud thump. A person standing under one could get quite a konk on the noggin from being hit with one and they have landed inches from me. I wonder if anyone knows the carving characteristics of Bo Dark wood?

  7. corndoggie Says:

    My photo keeps disappearing, to be replaced by an “enigmatic” icon. I just had to upload it for the third time. Admin?

  8. Dog in Boat Says:

    Re carving: Have fun. It’s about the hardest wood to work out there. …tool killer.

    Note: We’ve actually had this entire discussion before on the MUSE, but I can’t seem to find it. Admin?

  9. Well I thought my Boo Boo comments related to hard wood…

  10. corndoggie Says:

    Good one, O.

  11. It’s good to see this on a come back, there’s a show at The Canal Club tonight. “AIM TO TEASE”

    http://richmondinstituteofburlesque.com/

Leave a Reply

