Bokehlicious

Love the bokeh and IS on the Canon 70-200.
Bryan Park waterfall, yesterday, 1/2-hour before sunset.
focal length 70mm, ISO 250, f2.8, 160th sec., gold reflector on stand.
Model: purty lady

10 Responses to “Bokehlicious”

  1. corndoggie Says:

    Color space question: the colors on the finished image look correct in Photoshop and print OK, but when I previewed it in Firefox it was way oversaturated. The image above has saturation reduced -15 for the Muse, but still looks oversaturated. What’s up with that?

  2. The WordPress forums mention this problem. In short it is a product of WP converting these images for display. see –

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/color-problems-with-image-uploads?replies=9

    and

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/photo-color-problems?replies=2

  3. corndoggie Says:

    Thanks, but no. Those discussions are about resizing which should have no effect on color. But the resizing is a drag because there’s no post-resizing sharpen feature, so all images look soft on the main page. Is there a way to upload a Muse-sized, custom-sharpened image for the page and have it link to a larger version?

    I’ve pinpointed the problem it ain’t pretty. I’ve been blithely using Firefox, but I just now opened the image directly in Firefox and it was oversaturated. When I open it in Safari it looks fine.

    I don’t see any preference setting in Firefox, so as of now I’m kicking it to the curb where I’m going to beat it like a rented mule.

    I’ve replaced the desaturated version with the normal version. Please don’t look at my photos in Firefox and I apologize for looking at your photos in Firefox.

    I’ve got the latest Firefox and tried turning on color management, but no change. Yuck.

  4. corndoggie Says:

    OK, found the problem. Back to using Firefox, but good luck to the techno-shy. Firefox was using ICC Version 2 with the Version 4 option turned off by default. How many people out there are looking at wrong colors?

    Whatever browser you’re using, it’s worth a trip to the following page for a quick check to see if V4 is being used:
    http://www.color.org/version4html.xalter

    Here’s how to enable it in Firefox:
    1) type “about:config” into the address field
    2) scroll down to “gfx.color_management.enablev4” and double-click that line
    3) quit and restart Firefox

    Sheesh!

  5. J Moser Says:

    Regarding the lens. EF or EFS? Did you get one of those $2500 mofo-bokehs?

  6. corndoggie Says:

    Not the latest IS II model, just a used Canon 70-200mm f2.8 IS from eBay, $1400. Broke again, but happy. I rented one last year to shoot a musical. Looked at alternatives, but gotta have 2.8 and IS, and I read too many tales about Sigmas to feel comfortable. They’re good when you find a good copy.

    For more extreme bokeh, at some point I’ll get me one of them “nifty fifties”, the $100 Canon 50mm f1.8 prime. Plastic build, great optics.

  7. I’m jealous of your IS, which my $1,300 lens does not have. By the way it’s a nice pitcher.

  8. corndoggie Says:

    So sell yours for $1200 and look for a good eBay deal…

  9. I’m more of a 24-70 kind of guy, tho.

  10. corndoggie Says:

    You like to keep your eyes wide open, whereas I have tunnel vision.

Leave a Reply

