More Mardi Gras stuff

Capitans on Courrir

Scary Rider

I know, it’s a little early for Mardis Gras but I just ran across a few more pics from the epic trip down to Cajun country. It’s no wonder that little Cajun children look so forward to the Courir Riders galloping toward their house to remind them to be obedient. The Capitans are there to keep everything under control and, as one of the hosts reminded the throng, “they got real big stick and they will hit you wid it jus soon you start somtin” I think this might be a very real concern because I observed these cats on horseback getting seriously likkerd up at the start of the ride around 7 AM. and they had 7 hours to go before the evening party started.

8 Responses to “More Mardi Gras stuff”

  1. Good to see this. All my photos from this trip were lost to a dual hard drive crash, where I lost both the original files and the back up in one week. …and now I can’t find the field recording of “Paula Poulet,” either.

  2. Damn! I really was hoping you still had that tune we created in the parking lot of the motel. I will try to remember the lyrics and it could be revised by “Power Cave” copyright etc.
    At least you could tell the tale of how a Courrir works and Paula’s heroic efforts to save the chickens from the gumbo pot. As you know I skipped the actual Courrir to rest up for that night’s soiree but maybe you could describe the purpose and history of this traditional event in Cajun Country. My own ancestors on my mother’s side, the Belotes, were French Canadians (Acadians, transmuted to “Cajuns”) so but for a twist of historic fate I might have been a swamp dweller too.

  3. To find out more about this strange remnant of Medieval Customs that persists in Canjun Country just go to Wiki and punch in Courir de Mardi Gras. I don’t think I can re-create “Paula Poulet” in it’s original perfection. I was inspired to sing this because on the Courir Paula (of Alan and Paula) had captured not only one live running chicken ( a rare feat in itself involving leaping belly first through the mud) but two of the terrified birds and then found loving homes for her two prizes. This same Paula had chastized me for shooting the armadillos who were ravaging my gardens. I guess she put her belly where her mouth was.
    Roto

  4. I think I still have the song… the link on the muse to it is not working, but, if I can find it I’ll repost between now and Fat Tuesday.

  5. Anonymous Says:

  6. Anonymous Says:

  7. Fortunately, some memories from our trip to Louisiana in 2008 are preserved here on the Muse, at least until the admin decides to pull the plug: http://thedailymuse.org/2009/08/02/rotos-moment-of-self-discovery/

  8. jude3obscured Says:

    Is that Roto on horseback with the purple satin cape?

Leave a Reply

